Granular Activated Carbon Not Working?

Addressing air in the bed of dry GAC

About The Author: 

Wayne Schuliger, P.E., is technical director for PACS Inc., and can be reached at wayne@pacslabs.com. Henry Nowicki, PhD./M.B.A., is president of PACS and Activated Carbon Services and be reached at henry@pacslabs.com. H. George Nowicki, B.S., is laboratory manager and business developer for PACS and can be reached at george@pacslabs.com. Barbara Sherman, N.S., is manager of operations for PACS and can be reached at barb@pacslabs.com.

Activation Date: 
September 24, 2010
Legacy
Legacy ID: 
22181

Ion Exchange Developments

Ion exchange developments spur use in drinking water plants

About The Author: 

Francis Boodoo is technical director for The Purolite Co. and a member of the WQP Editorial Advisory Board. Boodoo can be reached at fboodoo@puroliteusa.com or 610.668.9090.

Activation Date: 
September 13, 2010
Issue Reference: 
Legacy
Legacy ID: 
22147

MTBE Removal With Activated Carbon

Effectively treating MTBE contamination

About The Author: 

Robert Potwora is technical director of Carbon Resources. Potwora can be reached at robert@carbonresources.com or at 760.630.5724.

Activation Date: 
September 13, 2010
Issue Reference: 
Legacy
Legacy ID: 
22146

UV Disinfection: Step By Step

Basics of putting UV disinfection systems to good use

About The Author: 

Sheila Berg is marketing communications manager for VIQUA – a Trojan Technologies Co. Berg can be reached at sberg@viqua.com or at 800.265.7246.

Activation Date: 
September 13, 2010
Issue Reference: 
Legacy
Legacy ID: 
22145

Certifying for Contaminant Reduction

Deciding which contaminant reduction claims to certify

About The Author: 

Tina Fischer is product certification supervisor for the Water Quality Assn. Fischer can be reached at 630.505.0160 or by e-mail at tfischer@wqa.org.

Activation Date: 
May 28, 2010
Legacy
Legacy ID: 
21839

Achieving Arsenic Removal

First successful demonstration of arsenic reduction using iron-based adsorption media

About The Author: 

Dennis Bitter is North American sales manager, inorganic program, for Severn Trent Services. Bitter can be reached at 614.899.7106 or by e-mail at dbitter@severntrentservices.com.

Activation Date: 
April 23, 2010
Issue Reference: 
Legacy
Legacy ID: 
21710

Remediation Through Humification

The role of humic substances in groundwater remediation

About The Author: 

Ted McCarter is president of PRB Environmental Group, Inc. McCarter can be reached at 404.831.4446 or by e-mail at ted@prbeg.com.

Activation Date: 
April 5, 2010
Issue Reference: 
Legacy
Legacy ID: 
21636

Testing for Reliable Bacteria Reduction

Related search terms from www.waterinfolink.com: testing, bacteria, IWPs

About The Author: 

Nikki Beetsch is the business unit manager for NSF International’s Engineering & Research Services group. Beetsch can be reached at 800.NSF.MARK or by e-mail at beetsch@nsf.org.

Activation Date: 
March 25, 2010
Issue Reference: 
Legacy
Legacy ID: 
21560

Iron: A Nuisance Contaminant

Thinking green while removing brown

About The Author: 

Jeff Roseman, CWS-VI, is a consultant and freelance writer in the water industry. Roseman is a member of the WQP Editorial Advisory Board. Roseman can be reached via e-mail at jeffrey@aquaionplus.com.

Activation Date: 
February 8, 2010
Issue Reference: 
Legacy
Legacy ID: 
21454

POE Arsenic Treatment

Spotlight Name Archive: 
Products
Legacy ID: 
57890
Spotlight Header Archive: 
Dealer of the Month November 2009

LayneRT is an NSF/ANSI Standard 61 certified and approved arsenic removal media. It is a hydrous iron oxide-impregnated resin that efficiently binds arsenic and never needs backwashing. LayneRT was designed for use in the npXtra series of home treatment systems to effectively reduce arsenic. Tanks are connected by a proprietary control head that provides valves for sampling influent and effluent of both tanks.

Image: