Arsenic Advances

Arsenic and its compounds have been known to be toxic for millennia. Arsenic trioxide (As2O3), often referred to as white arsenic, was a favored poison in the Middle Ages because it had little odor or taste, enabling it to be easily incorporated into the food or drink of a victim. As little as 300 mg can be fatal to an average person.

Deck: 

Solutions to an age-old threat

About The Author: 

Paul Sylvester, Ph.D., is technology development group manager for Layne Christensen Water Technologies. Sylvester can be reached at psylvester@laynechristensen.com or 508.393.5115.

Publication Date: 
April 29, 2011
Activation Date: 
April 29, 2011
Company Reference: 
Issue Reference: 
Legacy
Legacy ID: 
22717

Breaking New Ground

The National Ground Water Assn.’s (NGWA) 2010 Annual Meeting & Expo will take place Dec. 7 to 10 in Las Vegas. NGWA President-Elect Art Becker discussed this year’s event with Water Quality Products (WQP) Associate Editor Elizabeth Lisican
and offered an industry update.

About The Author: 

Art Becker is president-elect of NGWA. Becker can be reached at art.becker@sgs.com or at 609.294.1110.
Elizabeth Lisican is associate editor of WQP. Lisican can be reached at elisican@sgcmail.com or at 847.391.1012.

Activation Date: 
November 24, 2010
Issue Reference: 
Legacy
Legacy ID: 
22325

Monitoring Made Simple

New technology performs sampling and detection in one step

About The Author: 

Dr. Jun Xu is R&D staff scientist at Oak Ridge National Laboratory in Oak Ridge, Tenn. Xu can be reached at xuj2@ornl.gov or 865.574.8955.
For more information on this subject write in 1006 on the reader service card or visit www.wqpmag.com/lm.cfm/wq111006.

Activation Date: 
November 24, 2010
Issue Reference: 
Legacy
Legacy ID: 
22323

Going Public: Water Quality Issues

USGS study unlocks new findings on contaminants

About The Author: 

Patricia J. Toccalino and Jessica A. Hopple are hydrologists for the USGS. Toccalino can be reached at ptocca@usgs.gov. Hopple can be reached at jahopple@usgs.gov.

Activation Date: 
November 23, 2010
Issue Reference: 
Legacy
Legacy ID: 
22322

Gas Drilling & Water Quality

What to expect and how to protect drinking water

About The Author: 

Marianne Metzger is GPG business unit manager for National Testing Laboratories Ltd. and a member of the Water Quality Products Editorial
Advisory Board. Metzger can be reached at mmetzger@ntllabs.com or
at 800.458.3330.

Activation Date: 
November 23, 2010
Issue Reference: 
Legacy
Legacy ID: 
22321

Remediation Through Humification

The role of humic substances in groundwater remediation

About The Author: 

Ted McCarter is president of PRB Environmental Group, Inc. McCarter can be reached at 404.831.4446 or by e-mail at ted@prbeg.com.

Activation Date: 
April 5, 2010
Issue Reference: 
Legacy
Legacy ID: 
21636

In Search of Potable Groundwater

Mapping fluoride contamination in rural Ghana

About The Author: 

Heather Petrig is technical writer for Myron L Co. Petrig can be reached at 760.438.2021 or by e-mail at hpetrig@myronl.com.

Activation Date: 
October 28, 2009
Issue Reference: 
Legacy
Legacy ID: 
21212

Groundwater Extraction & Treatment

Groundwater project demonstrates successful arsenic remediation

Related search terms from www.waterinfolink.com: groundwater, arsenic

About The Author: 

Greg Gilles is vice president of AdEdge Technologies. Gilles can be reached by e-mail at greg@adedgetechnologies.com. Beth Thomas is project manager for AdEdge Technologies. Thomas can be reached by e-mail at beth@adedgetechnologies.com.

Publication Date: 
October 28, 2009
Activation Date: 
October 28, 2009
Company Reference: 
Issue Reference: 
Legacy
Legacy ID: 
21211

Preventing, Maintaining & Saving

A closer look at preventative well maintenance systems

About The Author: 

Neil Mansuy is vice president of technical services for Subsurface Technologies, Inc. Mansuy can be reached at 816.221.7770 or by e-mail at nmansuy@subsurfacetech.com.

Activation Date: 
October 28, 2009
Issue Reference: 
Legacy
Legacy ID: 
21210

Controlling Contamination with Carbon

Controlling VOC contamination with activated carbon

About The Author: 

Ken Schaeffer is president of Carbon Resources, LLC. Schaeffer can be reached by e-mail at ken@carbonresources.com.

Activation Date: 
September 8, 2009
Legacy
Legacy ID: 
21068