IAPMO concludes 94th Annual Education and Business Conference

Oct. 5, 2023
The event, co-hosted with ASSE International’s Annual Meeting and ARCSA’s Annual Conference, featured IAPMO’s announcements for executive staff and Scholarship Essay Competition winners.

The International Association of Plumbing and Mechanical Officials (IAPMO) last week conducted its 94th annual Education and Business Conference.

The event was co-located with ASSE International’s Annual Meeting and the American Rainwater Catchment Systems Association’s (ARCSA) Annual Conference at the Hyatt Regency San Antonio Riverwalk Hotel.

IAPMO’s conference featured new executive staff changes. Steve Panelli, chief plumbing inspector, city and county of San Francisco, was elected president and Jeremy Stettler, coordinator/inspector, Davis School District, Clearfield, Utah, was elected vice president. Brian Hamner, plumbing inspector, city of Des Moines, Iowa, will serve as secretary/treasurer.

John Nielsen, executive officer-program manager, Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses, state of Idaho; Carlos Flores, assistant chief plumbing inspector, city of Houston, Texas; Barry Ramsey, chief plumbing inspector, St. Louis County, Missouri; and Kevin Tindall, president of Tindall & Ranson Plumbing, Heating & Air Conditioning will serve as a district directors.

Fabian Gonzalez, training coordinator of Plumbers and Pipefitters Local 142, served as conference host and Jesse Ortiz, Local 142 president, served as conference chair.

“This was a truly momentous and successful conference, bringing three distinctly venerable industry organizations together for shared purpose and the exchanging of knowledge,” said IAPMO CEO Dave Viola. “Congratulations to Steve Panelli, Jeremy Stettler and the other Board of Directors members elected to serve and immense gratitude to Immediate Past President David Gans for his incredible leadership during a challenging time in IAPMO’s history.”

Winners of the 13th IWSH Scholarship Essay Competition were announced during the conference.

First prize was awarded to Calvin Cao, Western University, Ontario, Canada, and three runners-up were Marc-Anthony Dorestan, Millersville University of Pennsylvania; Aleksander Penkov, a Bulgarian studying at Hannibal-LaGrange University, Missouri; and Seanna Kryger, George Brown College, Ontario, Canada.

IAPMO’s 95th annual Education and Business Conference will be held in Las Vegas, Nevada, Sept. 22-26, 2024.

Photo 4645058 © Jennbang | Dreamstime.com
Photo 13444369 © Cammeraydave | Dreamstime.com
Photo 100938415 © Julia Sudnitskaya | Dreamstime.com
Photo 31287240 © Eugenesergeev | Dreamstime.com