Fremont, Neb., Wins “Best of the Best” Water Taste Test

Water provider secures top honor at American Water Works Assn.’s Annual Conference and Exposition

The American Water Works Assn. (AWWA) announced that the Fremont Department of Utilities of Fremont, Neb., has won the annual “Best of the Best” Water Taste Test. The event, composed of regional winners from water-tasting competitions across North America, was held at AWWA’s Annual Conference and Exposition (ACE12) in Dallas on June 12.

The city of Fremon, receives its water from nine groundwater wells in the High Plains Alluvial Aquifer, with an average well depth of 90 ft. The utility pumps 5 million gal per day through 160 miles of water main to serve 28,000 people.

Second place in the competition was awarded to Jordan Valley Water Conservancy District of Herriman, Utah, and third place was awarded to Arcadia Water of Arcadia, Wis.

Other Best of the Best participants in the competition included Aurora Water, Aurora, Colo.; city of Baltimore; city of Bend, Ore.; City of Niles Utilities Department, Niles, Mich.; City of Rochester Water Bureau, Rochester, N.Y.; city of St. Cloud, Minn.; City of Wyoming Public Water System, Wyoming, Ohio; Collier County Water Department, Naples, Fla.; Garzas Water Treatment Plant, Adjuntas, Puerto Rico; Greenwood Commissioners of Public Works, Greenwood, S.C.; Hardin County Water District No. 2, Elizabethtown, Ky.; Leeds Water Works Board, Leeds, Ala.; Oklahoma City; Rosehill Drinking Water System, Fort Erie, ON, Canada; Sioux Falls Water, Sioux Falls, S.D.; Upper Trinity Regional Water District, Lewisville, Texas; village of Park Forest, Ill.; and Water District No. 1 of Johnson County, Lenexa, Kan.   

A judging panel rated each water system on its flavor characteristics. Judges included Dr. Russell Ford of CH2M Hill, who is also vice chair of AWWA’s Taste and Odor Committee; Alan E. Davis of Alan Plummer Associates Inc., also a member of the Taste and Odor Committee; Ari Copeland, a water engineer for AWWA; and Clarice Tinsley, news anchor for KDFW Fox 4 News in Dallas. 

This is the eighth year AWWA has held the national competition. Previous winners are Greenville, S.C. (2011), Stevens Point, Wis. (2010), Macon (Ga.) Water Authority (2009), the Louisville (Ky.) Water Co. (2008), Oklahoma City Water and Wastewater Utility (2007) and Illinois American Water, Champaign District (2005 and 2006).



Post new comment

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options