National Ground Water Assn. (NGWA) Announces Awards of Excellence Recipients for 2010

Awards will be presented Dec. 8 and 9 at NGWA’s Ground Water Expo in Las Vegas

M. King Hubbert Award: Dr. David Rudolph, Waterloo Water Institute
This award recognizes major science contributions to the knowledge of groundwater. Rudolph, an educator, has conducted extensive research broadly based on groundwater resources, with a major focus on the protection of groundwater resources, groundwater contamination/remediation from agricultural sources, vadose zone processes and the mechanisms of groundwater recharge.

John Hem Excellence in Science and Engineering Award: Arlen Harbaugh
Harbaugh, formerly of the U.S. Geological Survey (USGS), initiated work nearly 30 years ago that was instrumental to the development of MODFLOW, the one of the world’s most widely-used groundwater computer modeling programs. Although he is officially retired, he continues to do MODFLOW development work for the USGS.

Outstanding Project in Ground Water Supply Award: ENTRIX Inc., Fort Myers, Fla.
ENTRIX was recognized for outstanding science, engineering and contractor innovation for its design and construction of an aquifer storage and recovery system (ASR) in Marco Island, Fla. The $10 million project was the first in the world to efficiently store fresh water in a highly brackish aquifer and obtain high efficiency recovery.

Outstanding Ground Water Project Award: Pall Corp.. Port Washington, N.Y.
Pall was recognized for outstanding science, engineering and innovation in the area of remediating groundwater for designing, building and operating one of the world’s largest oxidation treatment systems. The Ann Arbor, Mich., system treats groundwater for 1,4-dioxane and can pump and filter over 2 million gal per day.

Technology Award: Li Boynton
Boynton, a freshman at Yale University, was recognized for major contributions to the groundwater industry in the development of ideas, tools, and/or equipment. As a high school student, she created a method to test water using light-generating bacteria. She found that the higher the toxicity level, the less light the bacteria produced.

Technology Award: Fritz Carlson, R.G., P.Hg., CH2M Hill
Carlson was recognized for major contributions to the groundwater industry in the development of ideas, tools, and/or equipment. In the 1980s, he performed groundbreaking work on the Vadose zone, which led to the VLEACH model, which is still used today.

Life Member Award: Mary P. Anderson, Ph.D.
Anderson was recgonized for special service in the furtherance of the groundwater industry and NGWA. An expert in the analysis of groundwater flow systems, she was the editor-in-chief of the journal Ground Water and published her book, Applied Groundwater Modeling: Simulation of Flow and Advective Transport, in 2002.

Keith E. Anderson Award: Beverly Herzog, Ill. Geological Survey
This award recognizes outstanding contributions to NGWA’s Scientists and Engineers Division. Herzog has been an active member of NGWA for 30 years, serving on the board of directors, participating in 18 committees and work groups, and working as associate editor for Ground Water and Ground Water Monitoring and Remediation.

Robert Storm Interdivisional Cooperation Award: Vicki Kretsinger Grabert, Luhdorff and Scalmanini
Kretsinger Grabert was selected for this award for promoting collaboration, enhancing cooperation and fostering community among groundwater professionals. She has served on several NGWA boards, and helped to establish the annual Ground Water Summit.

National Ground Water Assn.

Post new comment

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options