Jul 02, 2014

NGWA Staff Member Appointed to National Drinking Water Advisory Council

NGWA Director of Science and Technology, William M. Alley, will begin his term Sept. 15

NGWA William M. Alley National Drinking Water Advisory Council

National Ground Water Assn. (NGWA) Director of Science and Technology, William M. Alley, Ph.D., has been appointed to the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's (EPA’s) National Drinking Water Advisory Council (NDWAC).

NDWAC supports EPA in performing duties and responsibilities related to the national drinking water program. Created through the Safe Drinking Water Act of 1974, NDWAC provides advice, information and recommendations on matters related to activities, functions, policies and regulations required by the act.

"Dr. Alley is an internationally recognized groundwater scientist who will contribute greatly to the work of the National Drinking Water Advisory Council," said NGWA Chief Executive Officer Kevin McCray, CAE. "He will provide a valuable perspective regarding groundwater, which constitutes about 45% of the nation's drinking water supply sources, as well as an overwhelming majority of the available freshwater in our nation and the world."

Alley served as chief, Office of Groundwater for the U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) from 1993 to January 2012. Early in his career with the USGS, he served as national groundwater coordinator for the pilot National Water-Quality Assessment Program, where he developed the initial concepts and plans for the full-scale NAWQA. He has a background in surface water and its interaction with groundwater, including coauthoring the popular USGS Circular, Ground Water and Surface Water: A Single Resource.

"It's a privilege to serve on the council and contribute to preserving and protecting America's drinking water supply," said Alley regarding the appointment. "I look forward to helping address some of the difficult challenges that confront America's drinking water supply."

Alley's term with NDWAC runs from Sept. 15, 2014 to Sept. 14, 2017.