Nominations Open for 2017 US Water Prize

US Water Alliance to select five winners, including two individuals

us water prize, us water alliance, winners, 2017, nominations

The US Water Alliance opened nominations for the 2017 US Water Prize. Awarded on an annual basis, the US Water Prize celebrates outstanding achievement in the advancement of sustainable solutions to the nation's water challenges. It is the pre-eminent national recognition program for exemplary efforts to secure a sustainable water future for all. 

Each year, the award is presented to three organizations—one public sector, one private sector, and one community, civic or research institution. For the first time, the US Water Prize also will be awarded to two individuals, a journalist and public official, whose work has made significant contributions to tackling our nation's greatest water challenges. 

"The US Water Alliance is honored to present the Water Prize to leaders driving a transformation in how the nation views, values and manages water. While the water sector faces great and varied challenges, the Water Prize is an inspiring reminder that our ability to innovate is even greater," said Radhika Fox, CEO of the US Water Alliance. 

"As a previous winner of the US Water Prize, it is a great honor to be recognized and celebrated by those who share a commitment to a one water future. I am thrilled to be involved in awarding the US Water Prize to the next group of water leaders and innovators," said Kevin Shafer, executive director of the Milwaukee Metropolitan Sewerage District and chairman of the Board, US Water Alliance.

The 2016 winners of the US Water Prize were DC Water for its Walter F. Bailey Bioenergy Facility; Dow for its Minimal Liquid Discharge technology; and Emory University for its WaterHub campus-scale water reclamation project. Read more about past US Water Prize winners here

Winners of the 2017 US Water Prize will be recognized and announced during the Water Prize Ceremony at the 2017 One Water Summit in New Orleans, June 27 to 29. Nominations are due March 8, 2017, and winners will be chosen by an Independent Review Panel comprised of past winners and water industry experts. More information about the nomination process can be found here

US Water Alliance

Post new comment

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options