Sep 29, 2016

NSPF Awards Scholarships, Fellowship Grants

Six university students earn $1,000 or $2,000 grants

grants, nspf, water, students, fellowship, scholarship, winners, santillo, wung

The National Swimming Pool Foundation (NSPF) awarded six university students scholarship and fellowship grants for the fall 2016 semester. Mia Cann, Emily Sara Cooke, Timothy Hiu Yeung Metz, Tiffany Robinson, Joshua Santillo and Jennie Wung were notified in August of the $1,000 to $2,000 grants.

Annually, NSPF provides scholarships to applicants who are active Certified Pool/Spa Operators (CPO), NSPF instructors or the immediate family member of the former. Fellowship recipients must be either enrolled full-time while pursuing an advanced academic degree or be a post-doctoral researcher at an academic institution.

NSPF scholarship funding is provided by the Phil Sperber Scholarship, named for a previous NSPF board member; the Don Burns Scholarship, named for a previous NSPF board member; and the NSPF Board Scholarship.

Fellowship recipient Jennie Wung will not only receive $2,000, but also additional funds to attend the World Aquatic Health Conference in October 2016 at the Sheraton Music City Hotel.

“I am immensely grateful to the NSPF for the generous fellowship award,” Wung said. “The funds will allow me to research the topic of chloramine interference that has been a question to the UCLA recreational water program for the [past] three years. My hope is that my findings will, by extension, be beneficial to the recreational water community and help shape health policy on a national level.”

“Education is key to our mission,” said NSPF CEO Thomas M. Lachocki, Ph.D. “Helping CPO certification families attend college aligns with our mission and hearts. We hope that these grants will help students in our field accomplish not only their own goals, but help shape the future of aquatics as well.”

The recipients hail from the following schools: Mia Cann of Shenandoah University, Va.; Emily Sara Cooke of the University of Utah; Timothy Hiu Yeung Metz of Westmont College, Calif.; Tiffany Robinson of the University of Arkansas; Joshua Santillo of Georgia Institute of Technology; and Jennie Wung of the University of California, Los Angeles.

Updated application forms for next year's scholarships and grants are now available at