Aug 20, 2013

NSPF Awards Scholarships, Fellowships to 13 Students

Now entering the 10th year, NSPF has provided education assistance to 120 students, totaling $170,500

The non-profit National Swimming Pool Foundation’s (NSPF) Board of Directors has awarded a total of $20,000 in scholarships and fellowships to 13 university students for the year 2013-2014. The board has funded these two award programs annually; now entering the 10th year, NSPF has provided education assistance to 120 students, totaling $170,500.

“This award program creates a legacy of learning, empowering future generations who strive to make the world a better place through action and giving back,” said Bill Kent, NSPF Scholarship Review Committee Chair. “Every person who has purchased an NSPF educational product or taken a CPO certification course has contributed to helping these young adults along the way in their professional development.”

The National Swimming Pool Foundation’s Certified Pool/Spa Operator (CPO) certification graduates and their family members are recognized with the Scholarship Program to help them pursue their college dreams; the Fellowship program was established to encourage and provide assistance to graduate, and post-doctoral research fellows, helping young scholars as they chart their careers.

The Scholarship Committee approved $15,000 in scholarships to 11 students who are pursuing higher education around the U.S., in a variety of subject areas. As a part of the application process, each student is asked to write an essay in response to a specific question.

  • Kayla Leigh Agan, University of Georgia, received an NSPF Board of Directors Scholarship for $2,000;
  • Katie Annette Bludsworth, University of Florida, was awarded the P. Cory Willis Scholarship for $1,000;
  • Robert Travis Campbell, University of Tennessee at Martin, received a Board of Directors Scholarship for $2,000;
  • Clara Chafins, Kentucky Christian University, was recipient of the D.J. Wright Scholarship for $1,000;
  •  Andrew Finkelston, Temple University, was recipient of a Board of Directors Scholarship for $2,000;
  • Brielle Hot, Fairfield University was awarded the Phillip Sperber Scholarship for $1,000;
  • Aniella Faith Janosky, Indiana University of Pennsylvania was awarded the Joseph Hunsaker Scholarship for $1,000;
  • Briana Erin Lynch, University of Arkansas at Little Rock, was recipient of a Board Scholarship for $2,000;
  • Gayle Nelson, University of Northern Iowa, was awarded the William Rowley Scholarship for $1,000;
  • Candice Rae Price, D’Youville College, was awarded the Donald Witte Scholarship for $1,000; and
  • Julie Clair Simansky, University of North Carolina-Asheville, was recipient of the Donald Burns Scholarship.

The NSPF Fellowship Program awarded $5,000 to two doctoral students who are performing risk reduction or health benefit research related to aquatic activities and/or venues such as swimming pools, spas/hot tubs, therapy pools, and waterparks.

Lori A. Sherlock will pursue her final year as a doctoral student in Education Curriculum with a Minor in Exercise Physiology from the School of Medicine at West Virginia University.

Jacquelyn Nagle is entering her third year as a doctoral student in Exercise Physiology at University of Pittsburgh.

Direct family members of individuals who have earned a CPO certification may apply for the 2013-2014 year scholarships prior to June 1, 2014. The 2014 scholarship essay asks candidates to write, from their perspective, “How do we help keep public pools open?” Essays that support the position by research and inclusion of scientific references will be viewed favorably.

Information on how to apply for scholarships and fellowships is available at Fellowship applicants should be performing aquatic research and can learn how to apply on the NSPF fellowships page.