WEF Announces 2009 Excellence Award Recipients

Awards to be presented at WEFTEC.09

The Water Environment Federation (WEF) proudly announces the recipients of the 2009 WEF Excellence Awards. The awards will be presented at the WEF Awards and Presidential Celebration Reception during WEFTEC.09, WEF’s 82nd annual technical exhibition and conference, on Oct. 13 at the Orange County Convention Center in Orlando, Fla.

The 2009 WEF Excellence Award recipients are:

• Camp Applied Research Medal: Ronald W. Crites

• Collection Systems Award: Gary A. Wyatt (posthumously)

• Eddy Wastewater Principles and Processes Medal: Dr. Remembrance Newcombe, Dr. Rebecca Rule, Brian Hart, Gregory Moller, Daniel Strawn, Tracy Grant and Susan Childers

• Emerson Distinguished Service Medal: Dr. Richard D. Kuchenrither

• Engelbrecht International Achievement Award: James H. Clark

• Fair Distinguished Engineering Educator Medal: Dr. Desmond F. Lawler, University of Texas – Austin

• Gascoigne Wastewater Treatment Plant Operational Improvement Medal: Barry Pomeroy

• Hazardous Waste Management Award: Jeffrey L. Pintenich

• Industrial Water Quality Achievement Award: DuPont Engineering, Kenneth N. Wood

• Industrial Water Quality Lifetime Achievement Award: Davis L. Ford

• Innovative Technology Award: ADS Environmental Services – Sliicer.com (Collection Systems)

• McKee Groundwater Protection, Restoration, Sustainable Use Medal: Dr. Genxu Wang, Dr. Jian Zhou, Dr. Jumpei Kubota and Su Jimaping

• Outstanding Young Water Environment Professional Award: Fran Burlingham, P.E.

• Public Education Award – Three Categories: Julie Karleskint (Individual), North Carolina Water Environment Association (Member Association) and the Western Virginia Water Authority (Other)

• Rudolfs Industrial Waste Management Medal: William C. Hiatt and C.P. Leslie Grady, Jr.

• Water Quality Improvement Award: Milwaukee Metropolitan Sewerage District

• WEF Canham Graduate Studies Scholarship: Hector A. Garcia

For more information, visit www.wef.org.

Water Environment Federation

Post new comment

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options