Apr 07, 2014

WQA Announces Board Election Results, Award Winners

WQA announced the results and winners at WQA Aquatech USA 2014 in Orlando, Fla.

Water Quality Assn. 2014 Aquatech Election Results Award Winners Announcement

The Water Quality Assn. (WQA) announced the results of its annual board elections and awards ceremony at WQA Aquatech USA 2014, the association’s annual convention and exposition. The event took place March 18 to 21 in Orlando, Fla.

Nine members were elected to WQA’s board of directors. In the dealer membership class, members elected Ronald Edwards, CWS-III, of Hague Quality Water of Maryland (Annapolis, Md.), Thomas Harrington of DS Services of America Inc. (Atlanta), Donald K. McGhee, CWS-VI, of Hydro Systems Inc. (Harlingen, Texas), and Michael J. McGowan, CWS-IV, of McGowan Water Conditioning Inc. (Mankato, Minn.). Frank A. Brigano, Ph.D., of KX Technologies LLC (West Haven, Conn.), Scott Clawson of Culligan Intl. Co. (Rosemont, Ill.), and Stephen Ver Strat of Access Business Group LLC (Ada, Mich.) were elected to seats in the manufacturer/supplier membership class. The members also elected Robert Maisner of Paragon Water Systems (Tampa, Fla.) and Cedella Beazley of Dow Water & Process Solutions (Edina, Minn.) to seats in the retail and commercial/industrial classes, respectivey.

A special election was held to replace former WQA director Andrew Kilkenny, who stepped down last year. Knut Sauerbier of Brita GmbH (Taunusstein, Germany) was selected by the board of directors to fill the seat, representing the retail membership class.

The executive committee of the board of governors for 2014-2015 also was announced. Douglas S. “Sam” Karge of Pentair (Milwaukee) is the new president and Bret P. Tangley, CWS-VI, of Sterling Water Inc., DBA Culligan of Eau Claire (Eau Claire, Wis.) is the vice president. Maisner will serve as secretary and McGhee will serve as treasurer. The three governors-at-large are Beazley, Harrington, and Chris Wilker of EcoWater Systems LLC (Woodbury, Minn.). Immediate Past President Richard Mest of Master Water Conditioning Corp. (Pottstown, Pa.) rounds out the board of governors.

WQA awarded key honors to 13 individuals during the Opening General Session. The Lifetime Member Award, given for exemplary service to WQA, was presented to Robert Slovak of Aroman Inc. (Incline Village, Nev.). The Hall of Fame Award, given for lifetime dedication and service to the water quality improvement industry, was presented to Charles “Chubb” Michaud, CWS-VI, of Systematix Co. (Buena Park, Calif.). The Honorary Membership Award, given in recognition of meritorious research, education or exemplary service, was presented to Assembly Member Luis Alejo, who represents California’s 30th District. The Ray Cross Award, given in recognition of a pioneer spirit and unwavering commitment to the industry, was presented to McGhee. The Regents Award, given in recognition of significant contributions at the state or local level on issues affecting the industry, was presented to William Maher, CWS-VI, CI, of Maher Water Corp. (Stevens Point, Wis.). The Key Award, given for demonstrating the highest qualities of leadership, was presented to Keith Brown of Kinetico Inc. (Newbury, Ohio). Awards of Merit, given in recognition of exceptional service to the water quality improvement industry, were presented to Dave Averbeck of Pentair (Milwaukee), Bob Curtis of Clack Corp. (Santa Fe Springs, Calif.) and Ellery “Al” Horn of Clearwater Systems (Akron, Ohio). The International Award of Merit went to Sauerbier.

Ten WQA members were recognized for their recruitment efforts with induction into the President’s Club. They included Kate Cline of Water Quality Products and Water & Wastes Digest (Arlington Heights, Ill.); Cindy Gresham, CWS-I, of Thermax Inc. (Northville, Mich.); Kurt Gruett, CWS-I, of Water-Right Inc. (Appleton, Wis.); Douglas C. Haring, CWS-VI, CI, CSR, of Pentair (Milwaukee); Denise Heskett-Al-Kharusy, CWS-VI, of KDF Fluid Treatment Inc. (Three Rivers, Mich.); Bruce Stump of Filbur Mfg. (Buena Park, Calif.); Shawn Talley of Pentair (Parrish, Fla.); Michael Urbans, CWS-III, of Res-Kem General Water (Aston, Pa.); Peter Waelti, CWS-I, of RainSoft of Denver (Thornton, Colo.); and Wilker. With 11 new members recruited, Wilker also was honored with the Bill Peltier Memorial Award, which recognizes WQA’s top recruiter for the year. The Quality Circle Award, for recruiting 30 new members into the association over a lifetime, was presented to Edward P. “Ted” Jones, CWS-VI, of Kinetico Inc. (Carmichael, Calif). The Platinum Recruitment Award for recruiting 75 new members into the association over a lifetime was presented to Joanne Grace (Victoria, Texas).

Two teams shared honors for recruiting the greatest number of new members as a group. The first consisted of Heskett-Al-Kharusy; Buzz Goldstein, CWS-V, of Charger Water Treatment Products LLC (Elgin, Ill.); Guillermo Guzman of H2O Intl. Inc. (Deerfield Beach, Fla.); Nicole Reisdorfer of Allied Purchasing Co. (Mason City, Iowa); Stump; and Wilber Vickers of Driesen Water Inc. DBA Culligan Water of Indianapolis (Indianapolis). The second winning team consisted of Wilker; Kelly Johnson, CWS-II, of Quality Water Services (Ponca City, Okla.) and Dar Watts, CWS-V, of SEAS Capital Partners (Plymouth, Mich).